A hiker stands on a rocky outcrop in Shenandoah National Park, looking out over receding Blue Ridge mountains.
SHEN · National Park
VA
Last updated
Sep 13, 2026

Best time to visit Shenandoah.

Photo · NPS Photo / Neal Lewis · NPS source

Check before you go

  • Closures, fire restrictions, construction and water: NPS Shenandoah current conditions
  • We are independent of the National Park Service. The official pages above are the source of record for anything that changes.
Use this pageShare or cite this guide

National Sites Guide

Share this page

Cite this page

Copy a citation

Compare Shenandoah by month.

Three signals for each month: how busy it is against October, the average weather, and how much of the road system is normally open. Tap a month for its full Shenandoah guide. We don't roll these into one "best month" score, because a photographer and a family on school break want different months.

Crowds · NPS recreation visits, five-year mean
Weather · NOAA normals, Big Meadows (3,540 ft)
Month Crowds Weather Roads & lodging What it means
January
Lowest
8% of October · 24K avg
Harsh
36°F / 19°F (2°C / -7°C)
Partly open
Typical windows · score 45/100
Quietest month. Skyline Drive stays open unless snow or ice closes it, and reopening after a storm can take several days. Park lodges and campgrounds are closed.Read the January guide
February
Lowest
9% of October · 28K avg
Harsh
38°F / 22°F (3°C / -6°C)
Partly open
Typical windows · score 45/100
Still quiet. Snow or ice can close Skyline Drive. Park lodges and campgrounds stay closed.Read the February guide
March
Quiet
23% of October · 75K avg
Rough
44°F / 27°F (6°C / -3°C)
Usually most open
Typical windows · score 65/100
First spring lift. The Old Rag day-use ticket season starts March 1, most park facilities begin opening, and the first wildflowers appear late in the month.Read the March guide
April
Quiet
40% of October · 127K avg
Good
57°F / 37°F (14°C / 3°C)
Usually all open
Typical windows · score 80/100
Spring warm-up. NPS says spring wildflowers are most varied at lower elevations along streams.Read the April guide
May
Moderate
50% of October · 158K avg
Good
64°F / 46°F (18°C / 8°C)
Usually all open
Typical windows · score 95/100
Pink azaleas bloom in the forest and along Skyline Drive. Big Meadows Lodge opens in early May (May 4 in 2026).Read the May guide
June
Moderate
53% of October · 169K avg
Good
70°F / 54°F (21°C / 12°C)
Usually all open
Typical windows · score 100/100
Summer visits build. Mountain laurel blooms in June.Read the June guide
July
Moderate
59% of October · 187K avg
Good
75°F / 59°F (24°C / 15°C)
Usually all open
Typical windows · score 100/100
Busiest summer month. Year's warmest highs at Big Meadows, about 75°F at 3,540 ft.Read the July guide
August
Moderate
56% of October · 179K avg
Ideal
73°F / 58°F (23°C / 14°C)
Usually all open
Typical windows · score 100/100
Still busy, and nearly as warm as July at Big Meadows. NPS says the banks of Skyline Drive are a good place for summer wildflowers.Read the August guide
September
Moderate
48% of October · 153K avg
Good
69°F / 52°F (21°C / 11°C)
Usually all open
Typical windows · score 100/100
Shoulder window. Visits run under half of October's, and the park's fall season starts late in the month. Wildlife is most active at dawn and dusk.Read the September guide
October
Peak
100% of October · 319K avg
Good
58°F / 42°F (14°C / 5°C)
Usually all open
Typical windows · score 95/100
Peak month overall, in the fall color season. The park says a color peak can't be predicted. Fall weekends bring large crowds, so NPS suggests a weekday.Read the October guide
November
Moderate
48% of October · 152K avg
Mixed
48°F / 32°F (9°C / 0°C)
Usually most open
Typical windows · score 75/100
End of the fall season. Most facilities close by late November (in 2026, Skyland on November 8 and Big Meadows Lodge on November 29).Read the November guide
December
Lowest
11% of October · 34K avg
Harsh
40°F / 24°F (4°C / -5°C)
Partly open
Typical windows · score 45/100
Off-season. Park lodges and campgrounds are closed, and snow or ice can close Skyline Drive for days.Read the December guide

Open the full Shenandoah crowd calendar

Rain, snow, latest-year counts, and the weather station

The Big Meadows cooperative observer station sits inside the park at Skyline Drive milepost 51 at ~3,540 ft, the elevation band of the Byrd Visitor Center, Big Meadows Lodge, and the central park district where most ridge visitor activity happens. NPS puts the park's elevation range at 535 ft near the north end to 4,051 ft at Hawksbill. Big Meadows publishes 1991-2020 temperature normals (used here) but no precipitation or snowfall normals. Precipitation shown is the published normal for Luray 5 E (USC00445096, ~1,400 ft on the valley floor, about 13 miles away), not a ridge figure. No station near the ridge publishes a snowfall normal, so snowfall is not reported.

MonthVisits in 2025RainSnow
Jan11,9892.85″n/a
Feb14,6142.45″n/a
Mar92,6253.58″n/a
Apr139,7373.51″n/a
May173,1154.21″n/a
Jun167,0904.76″n/a
Jul188,1444.12″n/a
Aug215,1143.77″n/a
Sep153,4785.42″n/a
Oct329,5653.17″n/a
Nov166,5663.21″n/a
Dec30,1153.10″n/a
October caveat

Shenandoah's October monthly mean (~319K visits, the year's peak) comes in the fall color season, and the park says the color peak can't be predicted. NPS says fall weekends bring large crowds and full parking lots, so a weekday visit is the easier way to see the same color. We don't publish weekly counts, so treat the 'October peak' as a monthly average, not a promise about any one weekend.

How these scores are computed (and why there's no combined "best month")

Crowd score

Formula: 100 − (this month's visits ÷ park's peak month visits) × 100. Each park scored against its own peak, not against other parks.

Source: NPS Visitor Use Statistics Data Package 2025, Recreation Visits (TRV), 5-year monthly mean (2021-2025). Reproduce these numbers on the NPS IRMA Stats portal.

Reading it: October at Shenandoah reads 0 (peak). January reads 92 (quietest). A 50 means about half the park's peak crowd.

Weather score

Formula: weatherScore = round(max(0, min(100, dayComfort − precipPenalty − snowPenalty − freezePenalty))). The piecewise day-comfort function is continuous at every boundary.

  • Day comfort: tmax < 50°F → max(10, (tmax − 20) × 2) (cold tail); 50–60°F → 60 + (tmax − 50) × 4 (ramp to 100); 60–78°F → 100 (plateau); 78–85°F → 100 − (tmax − 78) × 5 (ramp to 65); > 85°F → max(30, 65 − (tmax − 85) × 5) (hot tail).
  • Precip penalty: max(0, prcpIn − 1.5) × 8; kicks in above 1.5 in / month.
  • Snow penalty: snowIn × 2.5. If the selected station does not publish a snowfall normal, the score applies no snow penalty and labels snowfall as unavailable.
  • Night-freeze penalty: max(0, 32 − tmin) × 1.5 when tmin < 32°F.

Source: NOAA NCEI U.S. Climate Normals 1991-2020, station Big Meadows, VA (USC00440720, 3,540 ft).

Caveat: The Big Meadows cooperative observer station sits inside the park at Skyline Drive milepost 51 at ~3,540 ft, the elevation band of the Byrd Visitor Center, Big Meadows Lodge, and the central park district where most ridge visitor activity happens. NPS puts the park's elevation range at 535 ft near the north end to 4,051 ft at Hawksbill. Big Meadows publishes 1991-2020 temperature normals (used here) but no precipitation or snowfall normals. Precipitation shown is the published normal for Luray 5 E (USC00445096, ~1,400 ft on the valley floor, about 13 miles away), not a ridge figure. No station near the ridge publishes a snowfall normal, so snowfall is not reported.

Access score

Formula: For each named park road, count it open if its typical operating window covers that month. Score = round((sum of weights of open roads / sum of all weights) x 100). Where a park has a partial winter access mode, the profile documents that assumption in its access notes.

Route weights at Shenandoah:

  • Skyline Drive. The only public road: Year-round · weather closures
  • Old Rag day-use ticket: Ticket required Mar 1 → Nov 30
  • Entrance fees and cashless park: Year-round entry
  • In-park lodging. Skyland and Big Meadows Lodge: Seasonal · closed in winter
  • In-park campgrounds: Early spring → late fall
  • Black bear safety: Year-round
  • Appalachian Trail context: Year-round

Editorial methodology: the route weights are chosen by our editors from NPS road and lodge operating dates and the park's own access caveats below the score table.

Caveat: The score reflects wheeled-vehicle road access only. Backcountry, hiking, lodging, shuttle, and other service availability are not directly included unless the park profile states otherwise.

Why no combined score?

A combined "best month" number forces a weighting: how much do you care about crowds vs. weather vs. access? Those weights are personal. A photographer optimizing for golden light weights differently than a parent locked to school break weights differently than a winter visitor with a 4WD. We show the inputs and let you decide. Use the per-month grid above to navigate to a deeper page.

When are roads and lodges open?

Roads, entrances, and lodges by season. Road closures and lodge seasons decide what a month can actually offer. Verify with NPS before you travel; these change.

Independent summary
Last updated · Sep 13, 2026
Year-round · weather closures

Skyline Drive. The only public road

Skyline Drive runs 105 miles along the crest of the Blue Ridge Mountains and is the only public road through the park, with four entrance stations: Front Royal (mile 0), Thornton Gap (mile 31.5), Swift Run Gap (mile 65.5), and Rockfish Gap (mile 104.6, where it connects to the Blue Ridge Parkway). NPS says the full drive takes about three hours on a clear day. The road is generally open 24 hours a day, but bad weather can close it at any time, and after a winter storm it can take crews several days to reopen. When the gates are closed, visitors may still enter the park on foot. Check the NPS Skyline Drive status page or text SHENALERTS to 888777 before any trip that hinges on the through-route.

Ticket required Mar 1 → Nov 30

Old Rag day-use ticket

From March 1 to November 30, hikers on the Saddle, Ridge, and Ridge Access trails to Old Rag Mountain need an Old Rag day-use ticket in advance, in addition to a park entrance pass per the NPS Old Rag page. Tickets are sold through Recreation.gov. Parking at the trailhead is limited and the ticket does not reserve a space, so read the parking instructions on the NPS page before you drive over. Check the NPS current conditions page for trailhead and lot closures.

Year-round entry

Entrance fees and cashless park

Shenandoah's standard entrance pass is $15-30 and the Shenandoah annual pass is $55 per the NPS Shenandoah fees page. The America the Beautiful series (annual, Senior, military, fourth-grader) covers entrance. NPS notes the park is cashless, cash is not accepted. The entrance fee is separate from the Old Rag day-use ticket; both are required on Old Rag during the March-November window.

Seasonal · closed in winter

In-park lodging. Skyland and Big Meadows Lodge

There are two in-park lodges, both run by the concessioner at Goshenandoah.com: Skyland (Skyline Drive miles 41.7 and 42.5) and Big Meadows Lodge (mile 51.2, near Byrd Visitor Center). Both are seasonal. In 2026, per the NPS operating hours page, Skyland is open March 30 to November 8 and Big Meadows Lodge May 4 to November 29. Lewis Mountain Cabins (mile 57.5) also rent rooms, open April 10 to November 8 in 2026.

Early spring → late fall

In-park campgrounds

NPS documents four campgrounds along Skyline Drive: Mathews Arm (mile 22.1), Big Meadows (mile 51.2), Lewis Mountain (mile 57.5), and Loft Mountain (mile 79.5). It also names a fifth, Dundo, without details. All are seasonal, from early spring to late fall, per the NPS Shenandoah campgrounds page. Big Meadows is reservation only, Lewis Mountain is first-come, first-served only, and Mathews Arm and Loft Mountain mix the two. Reservable sites are released on Recreation.gov in stages, starting six months ahead. NPS says campgrounds and lodges are usually fully booked for September and October weekends several months in advance.

Year-round

Black bear safety

Black bears live in the park all year. Per the NPS Shenandoah safety page, stay at least 150 feet from black bears and 75 feet from all other wildlife, and never let a bear get human food. At campgrounds, keep food, garbage, and scented items in a locked vehicle or food storage locker. Deer, black bears, and wild turkeys regularly cross Skyline Drive: to watch wildlife, pull all four wheels off the road and stay in your vehicle.

Year-round

Appalachian Trail context

NPS counts 101 miles of the Appalachian Trail (AT) in Shenandoah, and the trail is reachable from the park's entrance stations. Short hikes that use it include Stony Man, from mile 41.7. Hawksbill, at 4,051 feet, is the park's highest peak. The NPS Shenandoah hiking page has the trail maps.

Which month fits your trip?

The month table answers most trips. These four decide the date for the rest, and each has its own page with the facts behind it.

Questions about when to go.

What is the best month to visit Shenandoah?

It depends on what you want. For a balance of crowds, weather, and open roads, September usually works well. If empty trails matter most, look at September weekdays. For the widest range of open roads and services, aim for mid-May to late October.

When should I avoid Shenandoah?

October is the busiest month, when parking and lodging are tightest. If instead you want the park at its most open, the tougher month is January, when weather and seasonal closures limit how much you can reach.

What are the quietest months at Shenandoah?

The quietest stretch is January, February, and December. January is the low point, averaging about 24,259 recreation visits, roughly 8% of the October peak.

Which month has the best weather at Shenandoah?

September usually brings Shenandoah's most comfortable conditions, with average highs near 69°F. It is not always the quietest month, so use the month grid above to weigh weather against crowds.

How this page
is built.

Independent, reader-supported.
Not affiliated with or endorsed
by the National Park Service.

Crowd numbers on this page are the Recreation Visits column from the NPS Visitor Use Statistics Data Package, 2025. Monthly figures are five-year arithmetic means (2021-2025) against each park's own peak month. We do not compare parks against each other for the crowd score: only against themselves.

Weather numbers are NOAA NCEI U.S. Climate Normals 1991-2020, drawn from the Big Meadows, VA station (USC00440720). The station sits at 3,540 ft; the elevation caveat above the weather table explains where this misreads the higher districts.

Access notes are an independent summary of NPS operating posture. We do not republish NPS pages; we link them. Conditions change; confirm road status, reservation requirements, and lodging windows on https://www.nps.gov/shen/index.htm before travel.

Full year-by-year history, records, and the events behind each year: Shenandoah visitation by year.

Crowd sourceNPS Visitor Use Statistics Data Package
Crowd range1979-2025
Weather sourceNOAA NCEI Normals
Weather period1991-2020
Last-mile check
The Almanac Mailing

The next Shenandoah
window, in your inbox.

One email a month. The park to point at, the week to book, the trail that's about to fill up. Unsubscribe in a click.

One email per month. We file your address with care.